Day Numero Uno… Great Vegan Bodybuilding Experiment

Leave a comment

September 4, 2012 by Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Had a great first day today.  Here is a picture I took in the gym locker room after my workout.

I am feeling super strong and well nourished!  64 oz of water down and hope to drink 64 more by the end of the night. Here are my eats for the day:

Meal 1 – 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 1 scoop PlantFusion protein powder mixed in (yummmm!)

Meal 2 – Half of a container of tofu mixed with 1/2 scoop protein powder (this was my pre-workout snack)

Meal 3 – After my workout, I had 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with the other half scoop of protein powder.

Meal 4 – salad greens with a little bit of carrots, cucumbers and red peppers mixed in.  Dressing was a big blob of dijon mustard and red wine vinegar mixed in.  I topped that with a boca burger.

Meal 5 – This will be eaten with my family at a Chinese restaraunt.  It will most likely be steamed veggies without sauce and tofu. 

Meal 6 – 1 scoop protein powder in the blender with a boatload of ice and a cup of almond milk.

I will update you on my macronutrients in my next post so I can be sure that they are accurate after they have been eaten 🙂

Workout:

Assisted Pull Ups -3 sets of 10

Good Mornings – 3 sets of 10 (I used 50 pounds)

One arm dumbell row- 25 lb DB, did 3 sets of 10

Stiff Leg Deadlift – 65 lb barbell – 3 sets of 10

Leg Curl – one set of 10 at 50 lb, 2 sets of 10 at 60 lb

Squat row, single arm – one set of 10 at 40 lb, two sets of 10 at 30 lb

Ball roll ins with feet (working on hamstrings) – 3 sets of 12

Cardio:

5 minute walking warmup

20 minutes sprints – 1 min at 7.5,  1 min 3.8

So excited about this journey!  I want to prove that I can get lean on a plant based diet and keep my hard earned muscle!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

