Rest Day Already? AKA – Day 3

Leave a comment

September 6, 2012 by Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Today was a crazy busy day at work, so I was relieved to:

a.)get out of the office for a little bit for a breather and a quick trip to Whole Foods and b.)not have to rush up to the gym and do a full workout, shower and get back to my desk. 

If you read my other blog, you know that the gym that I belong to is actually at the building where I work.  I feel super lucky to have a full gym facility at work where I can do whatever workout I need or want to do, shower and change and be back at my desk to eat my “lunch” (or, for us bodybuilders, either meal 3 or meal 4). 

I was so inspired last year by my friend on Facebook when I saw that she was doing bikini competitions.  I emailed her and asked her to share some of her wisdom with me.  She became my trainer (and great friend) – sending me amazing workouts and nutrition plans and advice. 

I was able to accomplish my goal of competing in my first (and second) shows by training at the gym at work on my lunch hour.  It is something I am incredibly proud of and I can honestly tell people that if you want something badly enough, you can find a way (and the time) to accomplish it.  Oh and just to let you know… the show was held at my very own high school.  Nothing like going back 20 years later (in a bikini) to a place where you had felt so small and insecure.  I remember doing cardio while singing, “I wanna run through the halls of my high school… I wanna scream at the top of my lungs! I just found out there’s no such thing as the real world, just a lie you have to rise above”…. 🙂

So, on to the challenge at hand….

Day 3 Food:

Meal 1: 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with pea protein mixed in (this was gross.  I used a sample pack that I bought from the store because the nutrient profile was gorgeous… but it tasted like chalk)

Meal 2: Same as meal 1 (I really don’t want to even re-write it because it was so gross)…

Meal 3: Salad bar from Whole Foods – lettuce, onion, cucumbers, green peppers.  Heated a vegan boca burger and ate it on top of the salad.  Dressing was red wine vinegar.

Meal 4: 2 TBSP natural peanut butter with truvia jelly on weight watchers whole wheat bread (2 slices)

Meal 5: 1 vegan boca burger with 1/2 cup lentils and 1/2 cup mushrooms cooked in veggie stock

Meal 6: 1 scoop PlantFusion protein blended in my Ninja (hi-ya!) with ice and almond milk.

Macros for the day:

  1,304 Cals 107 Carbs 42 Fat 138 Protein

So, let me tell you that once you get rolling on a more controlled eating schedule, changes seem to happen immediately.  I already feel a little tighter and leaner.  It may just be in my head, but hey, isn’t that what life is?  It is all about our own reality.  My reality says that I am feeling better already.  I’ll take it!  🙂

Until tomorrow!  Eat your veggies!

🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

