Leg Day = Oy Vey….. Day 4!

Leave a comment

September 7, 2012 by Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Happy Friday World!  Today started out with a little more stress than I would have liked…  My 3 and 5 year olds learned some interesting new language in the car that they probably shouldn’t have.  Serenity now! 

Anyway, it was a good opportunity to take the stress to the gym and use it wisely!  LEG DAY! 

Workout:

Squats: 3 sets of 15 at 60lb, 1 set at 75

Leg Extension: 1 set of 15 at 50lbs, 3 sets of 15 at 40

Plie Squat: 60lb DB – 4 sets of 15

Step downs on bench – no weight, one foot at a time, stepped down until I felt it in my glutes and then stepped back up.  4 sets of 15

Did a few abdominal exercises and then hit the cafeteria to get some salad greens.  Which takes us to – food for the day!

Diet:

Meal 1: 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 1 scoop plant fusion mixed in (ahhh – hello old friend.  After eating that brown rice crap, I welcome you back with open arms).

Meal 2: 1/2 cup quinoa with 1/2 scoop brown rice protein powder.  Ugh – spoke too soon.  I had to use it up, so I held my nose the whole time.  I also added 2 TBSP of hemp seeds for additional crunch and protein.

Meal 3: Salad greens with a boca burger and 1/2 cup chick peas.  Dressing was a squirt of mustard and some red wine vinegar.

Meal 4: Tofu mixed with 1/2 scoop protein powder.  Will also have a PB+J sammy

Meal 5: Salad greens and a boca burger

Meal 6: Scoop Plant Fusion with 1 cup almond milk and ice in the ninja blender. 

Daily total:

1523 Cals 145 Carbs 44 Fat 143 Protein

Hmmm… you may be asking yourself…. “Why these macros”?  Well, here is my goal.  I am trying to lean out and keep my muscle. From experience, my body does really well at around 135-150 grams of protein a day so that is what I am shooting for.  The carbs and the fats will change depending on what my workout is for the day (on weight training days, I will try to get around 140 grams of carbs and around 35 grams of fat.  On non weight training days, I will shoot for 110 grams of carbs and 40 grams of fat.)  If I train with weights, I allow myself more carbs because I need to replenish my glycogen stores, which get depleted during weight workouts (and giving the glycogen back to the muscle is what helps it grow!).  If it is a non-lifting day, I will keep my carbs lower and increase my fat a little bit to compensate for the lower calories from carbs. 

But, please keep in mind that this is what works for me.  Your body is different and may work better on more carbs or more fat, etc.  So, I invite you to do your own experiments!  But, the bottom line is, you need to eat to be healthy.  Eat clean, whole foods!  A great way to start out to figure out what your caloric needs are depending on your goal is to click here, scroll down and insert your information.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

