Day 10!

Leave a comment

September 14, 2012 by Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Day 10… it was a great day.  I didn’t go to the work gym because it was a gorgeous day and I wanted to get out of the office.  So, my coworker and I headed out to Whole Foods to grab some lunch.  It was so nice to breathe some fresh air! 

After work, I went to the gym right by my house.  I have had the membership for so long and get such a great rate that although I have my work gym membership, I keep the other one for the weekends and some evenings.  The kids love the playroom and well, the place is like a grown up gym rat disneyland….  gorgeous spa-like locker room with a sauna and great showers, every piece of gym equipment you could ever want (besides a damn hack squat machine…. WTH?).  Anyway, it is great to have both memberships.

It was Shoulders and Triceps day and I was ON FIRE!  I had so much energy and was actually looking to do more to burn out my muscles after I had done my pre-set routine.  It was crazy.  Here is what I did:

Seated DB Press: Warmup set of 20lb DB for 10 reps.  25lb DB 3 sets of 8 reps.

Side Lateral Raise: Warmup set of 8lb DB for 12 reps.  3 sets of 10lb DB, 12 reps each set

Front Raise: 15lb DB 3 sets of 10

Tricep press down with cable: 50lbx10, 60lbx10, 70lbx10, 90lbx8 (I have never used that much weight before!  Woo hoo!

DB kickbacks: 15lbx12, 3 sets

Had some extra energy and my shoulders were crying out for more, so I did some leaning side laterals to failure with a 10 pound plate (see picture).  After weight training, I went to the cardio machine area and both of the stairmills were being used so I hopped on an elliptical and did 20 minutes of HIIT (one minute as fast as possible, one minute regular pace) at level 6.  Once the folks were done on the stepmill, I hopped on and did level 5 for 15 minutes.  I finished up by doing 5 minutes at level 2 going slow and skipping a step and kicking out my leg (glute lifts).  I felt awesome when it was all done!

As for diet, it was good but not great.  I had brought home some cookies from Whole Foods for the kids and ended up having one (yeah, but it was a BIG one… :-)) They were vegan and were made by the Sticky Fingers Bakery people that won “Cupcake Wars”.  My daughter and I love that show and she thought it was so cool that she got to have a cookie baked by one of the winners.

The rest of my food day went great:

Meal 1:  1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 1 scoop PlantFusion

Meal 2: I know, I am getting predictable here… Same as meal 1… I might need to switch this up so if anyone else besides me reads this, they won’t fall asleep… 

Meal 3: This was great – it was a mish mosh of veggies, tofu, and seitan from the Whole Foods salad and prepared food bar.  It was delish! 

Meal 4: Salad veggies and a boca.  After my workout, I had this little baby:

Yeah, that’s right – it is vegan!!!!….  LOVE IT!

Meal 5: PB and J on sprouted oat bread

Meal 6: 1 and a half scoops of plant fusion with 1 cup almond milk

Macros (without the cookie :-):

1,415 Cals 128 carbs 40 Fat 137 Pro  

I looked feverishly around the net to see if I could find a calorie count for the cookie and alas, none.  Oh well.  It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

